HP Forums

Full Version: Is it possible to hack the 39gs?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey I just discovered the extremely cheap model on sale in China!

The price is 70 RMB without link cable, or a little bit more than 10 USD. And if you buy 1k, the price can go as low as 45 RMB, or about 7 USD!

Since the 39gs has the ARM9 core from SAMSUNG and there are many socket on the main board, I think it's a nice choice for a rebuilding firmware project, just like the WP-34S project! (Yeah our ArithMax team is considering about developing firmware for it.)

So does anyone have interest in 39gs? Or is it possible to hack the 39gs and using a third-party firmware?
In fact,I'm a chinese middle school student,I'm using hp 39gs.It is a cheap but Entry level graphing calculator.So if u want to learn hp programming,or hack a calculator,hp49 series are more suitable for ya.(or prime,but there r General Forum)LOL
(08-13-2014 04:38 AM)Waon Shinyoe Wrote: [ -> ]Hey I just discovered the extremely cheap model on sale in China!

The price is 70 RMB without link cable, or a little bit more than 10 USD. And if you buy 1k, the price can go as low as 45 RMB, or about 7 USD!

Since the 39gs has the ARM9 core from SAMSUNG and there are many socket on the main board, I think it's a nice choice for a rebuilding firmware project, just like the WP-34S project! (Yeah our ArithMax team is considering about developing firmware for it.)

So does anyone have interest in 39gs? Or is it possible to hack the 39gs and using a third-party firmware?

Yes it is possible.
Hardware-wise it's very similar to the 50g, but with half the ram, half the flash, smaller screen and no SD card.
Other than that, anything written for the 50g can be used on the 39. Older versions of hpgcc used to run on the 39, but later we dropped the target due to limited number of people interested, and limited RAM and ROM space.