HP Forums

Full Version: HP 45 Charger`
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi newbie here,

I have had an old HP 45 for years, which stopped working. After reading here, it seemed replacing the 400 uF electrolytic capacitor was a good first thing to do after cleaning the switch. I seemed to recall the display flickering for a bit some time back.

Took cover off the charger unit and noticed the resistor and diode on the side opposite the capacitor had clearly gotten hot. Checking resistor showed it to be open as it has separated from the lead.

So, anyone got a parts list for the charger or know the resistor value. Colors for the stripes are faded but I think I am reading 470 ohms, maybe a 1/2 watt resistor? As long as i'm there, anyone know what diodes I might need.

Sure would like the old 45 working again on my bench. Can't test otherwise as battery pack is long gone.

Thanks for any help here.

Mike
Andi,

Thanks for the info. The 2nd link looks like it tells me all I need to know, it lists the resistors, diodes, etc. I'll need to study it a bit as i'm not that great with schematics, but the unit isn't that complicated either.

Mike
(11-11-2018 01:53 PM)Milanomike Wrote: [ -> ]Andi,

Thanks for the info. The 2nd link looks like it tells me all I need to know, it lists the resistors, diodes, etc. I'll need to study it a bit as i'm not that great with schematics, but the unit isn't that complicated either.

Mike

The main thing to note is the capacitor and the diodes are polarity sensitive and damage can result to the component, charger or worse, the calculator, if these are accidently installed in a reversed position.

cheers

Tony
Thanks for the help here. i'm aware of the polarity, just need to look closer and get the right bits.
OK, need a bit of help here.

I'm finally back on my HP 45 charge unit.