HP Forums

Full Version: [50g] Assign VIEW to a key
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

I own a HP 50g for more than a year (and a HP-42S as well, but that's a different topic). Although I studied computer science and work as a software developer, I never found a good start for SysRPL programming.

Currently I want to assign the TOOL → VIEW function to a key in USR mode so that I can view any object on stack level 1 with a single key (similar to EDIT/EDITB with "down"). The problem is that this function is not available as a UserRPL command and that I'm a bit lost with the output of "K&SA" from KeyMan which obviously shows some low level code:

Code:
:: PTR 275C6 PTR 06E97 :: PTR 79E9A PTR 2B8AA; FPTR 2 0 ;

Maybe I can just use that program for the assignment, but I'd like to understand it as well. The start looks like TakeOver, but after that I'm not sure anymore (extable might help).

Can you tell me if I can use this output for the assignment via "A?D" and what the various addresses mean?
What would be a good start for understanding and learning SysRPL programming? You can find many tools for low-level development on the HP 50g, each with some kind of manual, but most of them just explain what it does, but not why or how you use it. I usually work with high-level languages like C or C++, Java etc. and even some low-level languages like smali or AVR assembler. I have the feeling that nothing of that can be compared with SysRPL or ASM on HP calculators (reference, toolchain, usability in general).

Regards,
Sven

edit: Meanwhile I found the two books "Programming in System RPL" and "Using the HP49G for System RPL Programming" that might be a good introduction into SysRPL programming. I'll start reading them but I'm still grateful for additional tips and an answer to my first question.